Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Restore to same device

Backups are restored to the same device via the Backup Manager, opened either on the Dashboard or directly on the machine.

Restore from the Backup Tab

  1. Select the target device in the north panel of the Dashboard
  2. Go to the Backup tab
  3. Choose the backup sessions to restore from
  4. Click Backup & Recovery
  5. Select Restore From This Session
  6. The Backup Manager opens in the Restore tab at the Dashboard selected backup
  7. Expand the tree to find the file(s) and revisions to restore
  8. To search for all available revisions of a file, use Search

  9. Once you have selected the file(s) and revisions you wish to restore
    1. Click the Restore to restore these files to their original location
    2. Enter the Restore to path then click Restore to restore to a different location

Initiate Restore from the Backup Manager

Open Backup Manager

Device

  1. Log on to the device
  2. Click the Backup Manger icon on the desktop (where available)
  3. Or

  1. Go to Start
  2. All Programs
  3. Backup & Recovery Backup Manager
  4. Select the Restore tab

Dashboard

  1. Right-click on the target device in the north panel of the Dashboard (or from the Server, Workstation or Device drop-down)
  2. Backup & Recovery
    1. Restore or
    2. Open Backup Manager
    3. Select the Restore tab

Regardless of how you have accessed the Restore tab, the next step is to choose the Data Source and Session then restore

  1. Select the Data Source and Session Time
  2. Expand the tree to find the file(s) and revisions to restore
  3. Once you have selected the file(s) and revisions you wish to restore
    1. Click the Restore to restore these files to their original location
    2. Or

    3. Enter the Restore to path then click Restore to restore to a different location

mob_backup_manager_open mob_backup_tab_options

mob_2014_restore mob_2015_restore

Backup & Recovery 2015

Backup & Recovery 2015 introduced the option to Skip files that have not changed, enabling this option may reduce restore times by skipping the processing for files that are identified as unchanged.

When selecting specific elements in the Restore Files and Folders tree the Overwrite existing files?...Choose "Skip" to restore only missing files option (available after clicking Restore) does not restore any files, this is regardless of whether Skip files that have not changed was selected.

To alleviate this issue either select and restore all items in the Restore Files and Folders tree, or choose the target files from the Restore Files and Folders tree menu and Overwrite existing files? Choose "Overwrite" to restore all files (which will overwrite any existing files when restoring).