Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Restore to another device

When replacing a server or workstation with a new model, it may be useful to restore data from the old device to the new one. This can be achieved using the Change Storage Account option.

The first step is to disable Backup & Recovery on the old device or remove the device from monitoring (uninstall the Advanced Monitoring Agent or delete the server or workstation from the Dashboard).

  1. Right-click on the device in the north pane, or from the Server, Workstation or Device drop-down.
  2. Edit <Device Type>
  3. Go to Backup & Recovery
  4. Change the Setting to Off

After this is complete, select the device you wish to restore the backup to in the north pane of the Dashboard.

  1. Right-click on the device in the north pane, or from the Server or Workstation drop-down.
  2. Edit Server or Edit Workstation
  3. Backup & Recovery
  4. Change the Setting to On
  5. Select Change Storage Account
  6. This opens a list of all inactive storages accounts including the device, amount of storage and when the account was last used.

    1. Choose the target inactive storage account from this list
    2. Select to apply
  7. Opt to run the Backup Manager in Restore-only Mode (available from Agent 10.5.11)
  8. Ok to save and apply

This storage account is now associated with this device for backups and restores.

Restore data before performing backups

To avoid overwriting the original backup files, we would suggesting restoring the storage account to the new device before performing any backups. You can restore the existing data from the storage account to the new device using the same procedure as outlined in Restoring to same device.

Check Backup selection and schedule

To ensure the relevant files are backed up, we would suggest checking the plugin selection and schedule before running any backups on the device.

Restore-Only Mode

The original backup file selections and settings are applied when using a previously inactive storage account on a new device running Agent version 10.5.11 or later. As the new device may not necessarily require the same configuration, we would suggest checking the Backup Manager to ensure these settings meet your current requirements before running any backups.

To make this process easier, from Agent 10.5.11 we have included the option to use Restore-only Mode. Where selected, this applies the storage account to the device with the backup options disabled. Once satisfied with the selection simply click Switch to standard mode in the Backup Manager's top information panel to re-enable backups.

Change Storage Account

bm_change_storage_account

Select Storage Account

clip0345

Backup Manager - Switch to standard mode (from Agent 10.5.8)

bm_restore_only

Only a Superuser (Classic) level user or the Agent Key (where Dashboard access is enabled) can be used to restore Backup & Recovery data to another device.

VMware restores are performed one disk at a time and if restoring to another device the restoration target must match the size, geometry and type of the source disk.