Disable Backup & Recovery
Where Backup & Recovery is no longer required it can be switched off for all servers and workstations or for servers and workstations at individual clients and sites only, from the Settings menu, Backup & Recovery, Settings. By default, servers and workstations will inherit policy from site, which will in turn inherit from client, which will in turn inherit policies set for all servers and workstations.
Should you wish to switch off Backup & Recovery on a specific server or workstation this can be done from the Backup & Recovery tab of the Edit Device dialog, which can be accessed by double or right-clicking on the device in the north panel or from the Edit menu or Server or Workstation drop-down.
In either case select Off from the Setting: drop-down and click OK to apply.
When Backup & Recovery is switched off (or the device is deleted from the Dashboard or the Agent is uninstalled from the device) the storage account remains (so you can still restore from this account), but is now Inactive.
You will continue to be charged for the storage used by inactive storage accounts until you remove that account.
To emphasize this point, when confirming that Backup & Recovery is to be disabled the following message is displayed with the option to view and remove any Inactive Backups.
Please note: The backup file associated with the device is still available and therefore billable. To delete this backup file, please go to 'Inactive Backup Accounts' under 'Backup & Recovery' on the 'Settings' menu.
Click here to view and remove any unwanted inactive backup accounts.
Remove an Inactive Backup Account
To remove inactive backup accounts, go to the Settings menu, Backup & Recovery and select Inactive Backup Accounts.
This will list all inactive backup accounts along with the details of the device which last used this account, when this account was last used and the amount of storage used.
Multi-select the target backup accounts (use Shift and left-click to choose a range of users or Control and left-click for specific users) then click Delete and enter your password to remove the selected backup accounts.
Once removed you will no longer be charged for that storage and you cannot restore this data.
These settings are only available when logged into the Dashboard using an account with enhanced privileges Superuser or (non-Classic) Administrator level access, a login with the required Backup & Recovery permissions enabled or the Agent Key (where Dashboard access is enabled)
What do you want to do?