Navigation:  Mobile Device Management >

Delete the Mobile Device from the Dashboard

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Where the device is no longer to be managed it can removed from the Dashboard. Simply select the required device in the north pane of the Dashboard, go to the Mobile Device menu and Delete Mobile Device, this options is also available when right-clicking on the device. Please enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion and remove the association between the mobile device and Dashboard.

 

clip1210

 

Deletion

ios_icon

Removes the device's configuration profile and automatically uninstalls the app

android_icon

Deregisters the app returning it to its initial pre-provisioned state (although the app is still installed it will cease uploading data)*.

windows_icon

Deregisters and uninstalls the app

Unenrolls the workplace enrolment

Removes and settings or restrictions

 

 

Notes

Where a mobile device is edited or deleted on the Dashboard this is recorded in the User Audit Report under the Mobile Device filter.

 

Manual removal of MobileGuardian is not communicated to the Dashboard, as such the device will remain in the active section until deleted from the Dashboard.

 

Google Android

Once the app is deregistered the user can then remove the app by going to Settings, Applications, Manage Applications, select the MobileGuardian app and Uninstall

 

If they experience problems removing the app (for example the Uninstall option is greyed out) it may be necessary to Deactivate the app's Device administrator access.

 

This can be achieved via Settings, Location and Security, Select device administrators or Settings, Security, Device administrators (depending upon the version of Google Android installed), untick the checkbox that corresponds to MobileGuardian Admin Rights and click Deactivate to confirm.

 

Once the Device administrator association is removed, the app can be uninstalled.

 

Microsoft Windows Phone 8.1

We leverage the Windows Push Notification Service (WNS) so the device should unenrol within minutes of its deletion. However, if problems were experienced receiving this command (for example WNS is down or the push failed) the fallback mechanism is used which can take up to six hours to unenrol the device.

 

If the device has still not unenrolled after one hour then access settings, company account, mobileguardian on the device and click the delete button.

 

Known Microsoft issue: Account deleted on phone after re-enrolling: commands are internally queued on the device for deferred processing, as such if the user manually unenrols then re-enrols the device before this command is processed it will delete the new enrolment when it runs.