Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Inactive Devices

Once monitoring and/or features are enabled for a device it becomes chargeable, generating a fee as long as it appears on the Dashboard. This is regardless of whether the device uploads data to the Dashboard.

To avoid the generation of invoices for Dashboard devices that are no longer in use, we would suggest using the Dashboard's device deletion options or manually uninstall the Agent to remove them.

Charges are not applied to those Agents installed in Asset Tracking mode (no checks or features).

Delete Devices from the Dashboard

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to the Servers, Workstations or Mixed pane and select one, or both, of the following options to filter the results:
    1. Select Last Response Over 30 Days from the device filter drop-down above the north pane
    2. Sort by the Last Response column to easily see which devices have not recently checked in
  3. Sort by the Last Response column to easily see which devices have not recently checked in
  4. Multi-select the devices for removal (Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific devices)
  5. Right-click on one of the selection or from the Servers, Workstations or Devices drop-down
  6. Choose the Delete option, for example Delete Servers
  7. Verify the number of devices this applies to
  8. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion
  9. OK to apply

Devices running Windows Agent 9.7.2 or later and Mac Agents from 1.2.0, the Dashboard deletion action is communicated to the device and the Agent uninstalled.

For earlier versions of the Windows or Mac Agents, or the Linux Agent, manual action is required to completely remove the Agent from the device.

Please refer to Automatically uninstall the Monitoring Agent for Windows and Mac for further information on this functionality and Agent removal behavior.

Download a CSV of the custom filtered north pane

Dashboard 2018.06.26 introduced the option to export the north pane device details to CSV when viewing a custom or "Last Response Over 30 Days" filter. The download option is grayed out for all other default system device views.

  1. Select the custom view from the Device filter drop-down above the north pane in the Dashboard
  2. Once the view has loaded, click the download button to the right of the Device filter drop-down
  3. This initiates a download of a CSV file containing the filtered devices and their column details (regardless of the columns selected in the Dashboard)

Agent Management Options

In addition to the delete option, you can opt to remove a workstation when the Agent is reinstalled as well as configure the number of days of inactivity before a workstation is automatically deleted (minimum 60). Please be aware that workstations continue to be chargeable during this period of inactivity.

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to Settings
  3. General Settings
  4. Workstations
  5. Under Agent Reinstallation
    1. Enable Automatically delete workstations from Dashboard if Agent is reinstalled
  6. Under Inactive Workstation
    1. Enable Automatically delete workstations from Dashboard if Agent is not uploading data
    2. Configure the number of days threshold figure
  7. Enter the removal notification period
  8. OK to save and apply

Dashboard deletion or Agent Uninstalls are non-recoverable actions. Once confirmed, any information stored in relation to the Client, Site or Device(s) is instantly removed from the database and the data is unretrievable. Please verify the correct item is selected for removal before entering the password and confirming deletion.

Agent Removal Alert

The Agent Management section also includes the option to generate a notification when a non-Dashboard action is used to remove an Agent from the computer. For example, a computer users uninstalls the Agent through Add/Remove Programs. Enter the recipient email addresses in the Agent Removal Alert section then click OK to enable.

From Dashboard v2019.07.05 the Workstations section was renamed Agent Management.

What do you want to do?