Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Edit Dashboard Users

 

Sometimes it may be necessary to edit a Dashboard user to take account of changes to their account. For example, the email address, change their account role (perhaps upgrading from Administrator to Superuser or a custom role), change the Client Group they are associated with or enforce the company's security policies - or force the user to Reset Password the next time they log in.

Two types of edit action are available depending on the user selection:

Main dialog actions: individual users (covering changes to Username, Role and Client Group)

User menu actions: individual and multiple users (includes Reset Password, Two-Factor Authentication)

To edit users:

  1. Log into the Dashboard under an account with Users permissions enabled (for example SuperUser)
  2. Go to Settings
  3. Users
  4. User Accounts
  5. Multi-select the target users (use Shift and left-click to choose a range of users or Control and left-click for specific users)
  6. Perform the required action (covered below)
  7. Save
  8. Enter the password you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm to send a verification email to the newly entered username

Edit User Actions

Element

Option

Main Dialog - individual users

Edit Username

Click in the Edit Username field and apply changes.

When making changes to the username, please ensure an active and valid email address is entered for the user.

Using an active and valid email address for the user ensures that one setup they can manage their login (receive the reset passwords etc.) without any administrative intervention.

Important

This change only takes effect after the user verifies their new username.

Until that time, the new email address continues to appear in the Edit Username field and the user can access the Dashboard with their existing username.

Role

The level of access for the account selected from the drop-down

Staff Roles

Superuser

Superuser (Classic)

Administrator

Administrator  (Classic)

Standard

Standard  (Classic)

Custom Roles (based on a Staff role)

Client Roles

Client

Custom Roles (based on a Client role)

Client Groups

From the drop-down select the required Client Group (list of Clients the User has access to)

Choose Manage roles.. to Add Role, Clone Role, edit a role's details (name and permission) or delete an unused role. Save to apply changes.

IMPORTANT: Client User - when making changes to the Client's Dashboard access through the User Accounts dialog please ensure that the user only has access to their own portion of the Dashboard through the use of Client Groups. For example create a Client Group with that one client then apply this to the user.

After editing the Client login we would suggest logging in with their credentials to ensure only that specific customer's devices are visible.

Please be aware that from Dashboard 6.14 the Asset Tracking section and all Dashboard Reports (apart from the account wide User Audit Report and Remote Support Report) are Client Group aware. From this release users will only see Assets and Dashboard Reports that are specific to their assigned Clients; for example when selecting All Clients from a Report drop-down, this will only return the Reports for their Client Group.

Enable Agent Key user Dashboard access

When disabled (unticked) this option prevents the Agent Key user from logging into the Dashboard, although the Agent Key can still be used for Agent installations.

User  - multiple users

Password Reset

Reset Password Now

Sends an email to the user an email with a link to set their new password

Reset Password Next Login

Forces the user to reset their password the next time they login to the Dashboard.

The user can choose to reset their own password by using the Forgot Password link in the Dashboard login screen.

Two Factor Authentication (2FA)

Set As Required

The enters a 2FA passcode to access the Dashboard. This is activated the next time they login to the Dashboard.

Remove Requirement

Removes 2FA for the user. They can access the Dashboard without a 2FA passcode. This is only available when 2FA is managed at the user level.

 

 

2fa2_edit_user