Disable the System Tray Application

The System Tray Application is configurable across multiple devices (on all servers and workstations or servers and workstations at specific clients and sites) or on individual computers.

Once Off is selected, the System Tray Application remains available to the user until they have logged off then back onto the computer.

Multiple Devices

Servers and workstations inherit their configuration from the site, which will in turn inherits from the client, which will in turn inherits the default configuration for all servers and workstations.

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to Settings
  3. System Tray Application
  4. Settings
  5. Select the Entity type to apply the configuration to (all servers and workstations or servers and workstations at specific clients and sites)
  6. We use dots in the Settings dialog to make it easier to spot if the feature is enabled or disabled at the entity level, and whether devices under an entity have the same settings.

     

    • Green - Feature or functionality enabled for all devices under that entity. This includes device level settings
    • Gray - Feature or functionality disabled on at least one device under that entity. This includes device level settings
    • Orange – One of the child entities has a different configuration to the parent. Where a Client only has one Site, its status indicator reflects that of the Site.

    For further information on each of these states, please refer to Feature and Functionality Settings Iconography.

  7. Choose the Setting: Off or Use Parent where parent is Off (only for Client or Site)
  8. OK to save and apply

Individual Device

You can disable the System Tray Application for specific servers and workstations, for example to exclude the device from the default entity policy or only apply the application on certain computers.

Once selected device level settings take precedence over those set at the policy level. Where the device settings have changed, to place the device back under policy control please select Use Policy Settings.

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Right-click on the device in the north pane (or from the Edit Server or Edit Workstation drop-down)
  3. Edit Server or Edit Workstation
  4. System Tray
  5. Choose Setting:Off or Use Policy Setting (Off)
  6. OK to save and apply