Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Delete a Client, Site or Device from the Dashboard

Where a Client, Site or Device appears on the Dashboard, but is no longer required, we would suggest its removal. When deleting a Client all of its associated Sites and Devices are removed and when deleting a Site, all of its associated Devices are removed.

The deletion is recorded in the Dashboard User Audit Report available from the Reports menu and includes the Date/Time of removal, the Client, Site and Device Details in addition to the Username and action, for example: Agent Uninstalled Manually from Device

Important: Dashboard deletion is a non-recoverable action. Once deletion is confirmed, any information stored in relation to the Client, Site or Device(s) is instantly removed from the database and the data is unretrievable. Please verify the correct item is selected for removal before entering the password and confirming deletion.

The Dashboard deletion options are available when logged in using an account with General Settings (Clients, Sites and Devices) permissions enabled.

Delete a Client

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Right-click on the target Client in the left Monitoring and Management accordion (or from the Edit menu)
  3. Delete Client
  4. Verify the number of sites and devices this applies to
  5. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion
  6. OK to apply

Delete a Site

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Click on the Client in the left Monitoring and Management accordion to expand its Sites
  3. Right-click on the target Site (or from the Edit menu)
  4. Delete Site
  5. Verify the number of devices this applies to
  6. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion
  7. OK to apply

Delete a Device from the Dashboard

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to the Servers, Workstations or Mixed pane
  3. Multi-select the devices for removal (Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific devices)
  4. Right-click on one of the selection or from the Servers, Workstations or Devices drop-down
  5. Choose the Delete option, for example Delete Workstations
  6. Verify the number of devices this applies to
  7. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion
  8. OK to apply

Automatic Agent Uninstall

For Devices running Windows Agent 9.7.2 or later and Mac Agents from 1.2.0, the Dashboard deletion action is communicated to the device and the Agent uninstalled.

For earlier versions of the Windows or Mac Agents, or the Linux Agent, the Delete Device option simply removes the entries for the device from the database, it does not remove the Agent from the device. The Agent continues to run and attempt to upload data,  which is rejected on our side as its Dashboard association was deleted. To fully remove the Agent from the computer a manual uninstall is required.

Manual Agent Uninstall

Agent removal varies between Operating System and distributions, but the Dashboard Delete Device option applies to all device types. The following sections cover the uninstall process for the supported Operating Systems:

Operating System

Distribution

Windows

Mac

Linux

Red Hat Family

SUSE Family

Debian