Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Automatically uninstall the Monitoring Agent for Windows and Mac

When monitoring of a device, or a number of devices, is no longer required it can be removed from the Dashboard by using the Delete option, for example where a support contract has expired and you no longer have access to the devices to run the uninstaller.

Simply select the required device(s) in the north pane - click an individual device or multi-select a number of device using Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific devices - then from the Edit menu, Server or Workstation drop-down (or right click on one of the selection) - Delete Servers or Delete Workstations (depending on selection). Devices may also be removed by deleting their associated Client and/or Site from the Dashboard. Regardless of the removal method, enter the password of the account you have logged on to the Dashboard under to confirm deletion when prompted.

Prior to Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2 and Mac Agent 1.2.0 when a device was deleted from the Dashboard its entries were only removed from the database, the Agent was not uninstalled from the machine. To remove the Agent you would have to run the uninstaller on the local machine or create a Group Policy removal policy (where the Agent was added via Group Policy).

However from Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2 and Mac Agent 1.2.0 when a device is deleted from the Dashboard it entries are not only removed from the database, but the Agent is automatically uninstalled from the device where the Agent was manually installed. From Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent v9.8.3 the automatic removal functionality was expanded to include those Agent that were initially installed via Group Policy.

Automatic Uninstall

Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2 and Mac Agent 1.2.0 introduced the automatic removal of manually installed Agent.

Behavior when deleting devices from the Dashboard


Agent Version

Dashboard Removal

Automatic Agent Uninstall

Group Policy Agent Uninstall

Mac pre-1.2.0

Yes

No

-

Mac 1.2.0 and above

Yes

Yes

-

Windows pre-9.7.2

Yes

No

No

Windows 9.7.2 and above

Yes

Yes

No

Windows 9.8.3 and above

Yes

Yes

Yes

Although we run the uninstallers for the Agent and any installed features, there may be instances where some files and folders associated with the features are not removed from the device.

Dashboard deletion or Agent Uninstalls are non-recoverable actions. Once confirmed, any information stored in relation to the Client, Site or Device(s) is instantly removed from the database and the data is unretrievable. Please verify the correct item is selected for removal before entering the password and confirming deletion.