In what circumstances are PSA Tickets automatically created or reopened?
Where it is a 24x7 Check or overdue server any failure creates a new PSA Ticket.
If it is a Daily Safety Check the first time the check fails a new PSA Ticket is created, subsequent failures for the check reopen the same PSA Ticket.
Please note that there may be times where a failure is reported in the Outages Tab with the PSA Ticket state of None, although PSA Tickets are set for auto-creation. This can occur depending on the Check and its configuration.
For example the Performance and Bandwidth Monitoring Checks have an Alert Suppression setting configurable from the Dashboard and where the check has failed, but not yet exceeded the threshold, the Check will show in the Outages Tab and Dashboard with a yellow tick.
If the check remains in this failed stated beyond this threshold figure its status will change, with both the Outages Tab and Dashboard displaying a red tick and at this point the PSA Ticket is created and Alert sent (if configured.)
Are there any easily identifiable indicators of PSA problems outwith the outage or PSA ticket itself?
Any problems experienced with the PSA integration will result in a warning icon in the top right of the Dashboard with the number of errors displayed. Clicking on the icon displays details of the issue and any suggested resolutions. Further information is available in PSA Integration Problem Reporting.
What happens when I delete a Client or Device on the Dashboard or PSA?
Any Dashboard clients (Autotask account) or devices (Autotask products) deleted from the Dashboard raise a deleted device ticket in the PSA System.
Any Autotask accounts (Dashboard clients) or products (Dashboard devices) deleted from the PSA system are still displayed on the Dashboard but are recorded as un-mapped.
Are note added against the PSA ticket available in the Dashboard Notes reports?
Only notes added via the Dashboard Notes are displayed in the Notes Reports. Any notes added as to the PSA Ticket either via the Dashboard or Autotask PSA are not included.
Do I have to add the clients and devices from the Dashboard into Autotask to generate tickets?
Yes, depending on the ticket creation policy configured in the PSA clients and devices must first be mapped from the Dashboard to the corresponding item within Autotask to allow tickets to be created against them. This can be achieved either by using the Auto-Map function or by adding them manually.
I setup the PSA but cannot see the Entity Mappings option?
The Entity Mappings entry is not available where the Create Ticket Against is set to Default. If this is incorrect the Create Ticket Against behaviour may be changed on the Dashboard via Settings, PSA Integration, Configure, Ticket Creation Settings then selecting Account or Device from the Create Ticket Against drop-down.
I closed a ticket in Autotask and the Dashboard is displaying the error Ticket does not exist or is invalid
This error may be displayed where the Dashboard created ticket is closed within Autotask and the Dashboard has not yet synchronised. To resolve this issue highlight the ticket in the Dashboard Outages tab and choose the Force Sync option from the PSA Ticket Actions menu. This will synchronise the Dashboard with Autotask and remove the mapping for this ticket.
To ensure the smooth running of the integration we would suggest any tickets created within the Dashboard are not deleted in Autotask.
I have thousands of accounts setup in Autotask although not all of them are currently active. Can I configure the integration to only retrieve information from those accounts where there has been activity over the last X number of days as I don’t want to delete them?
When setting up PSA Integration, or later through the Configure dialog, the number of days since there was any activity on an account can be entered in the Last Activity Range section so information will only be retrieved for accounts active within this period.
I configured Asset Tracking, but cannot see the Asset information in Autotask for Virtual Machines!
By default the Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent does not upload Asset information from Virtual Machines, although there is the option to either configure this for all devices on the registered against the Dashboard or for individual devices. Instructions on how to do this are included in the section: Windows Virtual Machines