Remote Monitoring & Management Help

Add Dashboard Users

 

Multiple users may be added to the Dashboard, so each has their own unique login. This is not only important from the security aspect, as when combined with Roles and Permissions and Client Groups a user's view may be limited to only those Clients and sections they have direct responsibility for, and also increases accountability as each substantive action a user takes is recorded in the User Audit Report.

In addition to staff users, Dashboard 6 introduced the facility to add multiple Client level users via User Accounts dialog (Settings > Users> User Accounts) and assign a system or custom role as well as group, this option is in addition to the single user Edit Client > Dashboard Access dialog that defaults to the Client (Classic) role (and is still available).

Due to the intended use of the Client login, to allow customers to view only their portion of the Dashboard and no-one else's information, we would strongly recommend setting up a single customer Client Group. This can then be allocated against the Client login when setting up their access in the User Accounts dialog.

This section covers:

Add Dashboard Users

  1. Log into the Dashboard under an account with Users permissions enabled (for example SuperUser)
  2. Go to Settings
  3. Users
  4. User Accounts
  5. Add User and configure(covered below)
  6. Save and enter the password you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm

Add User Options

Username

Enter an active and valid email address for the user to act as their username.

Once the user is created a verification email is sent to this address containing the set password link. This address is also used for any subsequent changes actioned by the user through the Password Reset options.

Role

The level of access for the account selected from the drop-down with the following options available

Staff Roles

Superuser

Superuser (Classic)

Administrator

Administrator  (Classic)

Standard

Standard  (Classic)

Custom Roles (based on a Staff role)

Client Roles

Client

Custom Roles (based on a Client role)

Choose Manage roles. to Add Role, Clone Role, edit a role's details (name and permission) or delete an unused role.

Client Groups

From the drop-down select the required Client Group (list of Clients the User has access to)

Choose Manage Groups to Add Client Group, change Group details (name and Client members) or delete a Group. Save to apply changes.

IMPORTANT: Client User - when setting up Client access to the Dashboard through the User Accounts dialog please ensure that the user only has access to their own portion of the Dashboard through the use of Client Groups. For example create a Client Group with that one client then apply this to the user. After setup we would suggest logging in with the Client level login to ensure only that specific customer's devices are visible.

Please be aware that from Dashboard 6.14 the Asset Tracking section and all Dashboard Reports (apart from the account wide User Audit Report and Remote Support Report) are Client Group aware. From this release users will only see Assets and Dashboard Reports that are specific to their assigned Clients; for example when selecting All Clients from a Report drop-down, this will only return the Reports for their Client Group.

 

User Created Password

As an additional security precaution, when a new user is create on the Dashboard an email is sent to the entered username (email address) containing a set password link.

The password must be in the following format:

Password Policy

At least 8 characters in length

Contain no white-space characters

Have at least one uppercase, one lowercase and one numeric character

May contain special characters

For visibility the current password status of a user is displayed in the P/W (Password) column, a green tick indicates that a Password is set whilst an empty tick indicates the Password is unset.

User drop-down

Please note that in addition to Reset Password the User drop down also includes the option Reset 2FA (Two-Factor Authentication) [where enabled] which forces the target user to reset their Two-Factor Authentication the next time they login to the Dashboard).

Disable or Enable Agent Key user Dashboard access

As a security measure we have included the option to disable or Enable Agent Key user Dashboard access at the bottom of the Users dialog and when disabled (unticked) this limits Dashboard access to Superuser, Administrator or Standard users, although the Agent Key can still be used for Agent installations.

Save or Cancel Changes

When satisfied with the selection click Save to apply and when prompted enter the password of the account you have logged on to the Dashboard under to confirm any changes, or Cancel to exit the dialog. To avoid accidentally exiting out of the Users dialog and losing any changes, the Unsaved changes prompt requires confirmation of your intentions.

Client Dashboard Access

In addition to the User Accounts dialog, where a legacy Client Dashboard login was already configured via Edit Client> Dashboard Access we have retained access to this dialog.

If there is not an Edit Client Dashboard Access login setup for the Client, you are pointed to the User Accounts and Client Groups settings.

2fa2_setup_user