Passportal Help

Managing Security Groups

Security groups are used to restrict access in two different ways

  • Restricting access to a folder to a group of specified users only
  • Assigning clients specifically to a group of specified users
  1. To create or modify a security group follow these steps:
  2. Navigate to "Security Groups" under "Users" on the sidebar.

Create New Security Group

  1. Select the "New" menu at the top and then select "Security Group" from the drop-down.
  2. To assign users to a security group, select the users from the top left pane and select the top > (right arrow) button in between the top panes.
  3. To remove users from a security group, select the users to be removed from the top right pane and select the top < (left arrow) button in between the top panes.
  4. To assign clients to a security group, select the clients from the bottom left pane and select the bottom > (right arrow) button in between the bottom panes.
  5. To remove a client from a security group, select the clients to be removed from the bottom right page and select the bottom < (left arrow) button in between the bottom panes.
  6. Click "Assign" at the bottom.
  7. Security groups are applied to folders in the Edit Folder window by selecting or removing previously created/saved groups.

Edit Security Group

  1. Click on the edit option in the Actions section of the list next to the desired security group.
  2. Follow the same steps as when creating a security group to add and remove users and/or clients.

Delete Security Group

  1. Select Delete Security Group in the Actions section of the list next to the desired security group.
  2. Follow the confirmation dialogue.