You can edit the default templates, as well as custom templates. Once the template has been updated, you choose when the existing documents based on that template are updated to the new version.
If you delete an element to remove it from the template or change it to a different element, the information stored in this element will be lost when updating your documents based on the template. Re-adding the same element will not retain the information in the document. If you remove an element in error, recommendation is to close the template editor without saving, and start your template edit from the beginning.
To edit a template:
- Navigate to Settings > Templates.
- Click the Edit Template option in the 3 dots menu in the Actions column of the Templates list.
- The Template Editor scree is displayed. From here you can edit the template, the controls are the same as described in Using and Managing Document Templates in Documentation Manager. Details on the element options are available in Element Options
- Once the required changes have been made, click Save.
- You will now be prompted to select whether or not to update the existing documents based on the template. Select Yes to update now, or No to update them one by later.
- If you selected No, please see Updating Existing Documents with new or edited Templates for details on updating the documents at a later time.