End User Materials and Instructions for Blink
Blink End User Guide
Blink is a self-service password reset tool and app that allows users to reset their own passwords without having to contact their MSP. Everything will be done within a dedicated app that is available for all iOS and Android devices. On top of allowing password self-resets, Blink will also proactively monitor the account and let you know when a lockout has occurred. Keeping the user in the know of the security of their account.
This user guide is designed to help you become acquainted with Blink and the steps leading to correct activation.
Blink is a feature that allows users to request a new password for their Windows account via SMS or Android/iOS App. It is fast, secure and involves no technician during the reset process.
- Your MSP will activate all required users with the Blink capabilities and those users will receive an email from firstname.lastname@example.org with an activation link.
- Users will click on the link and are taken to a screen where enter their cell number for use with the reset system.
- A verification code is then sent to the user’s cell phone
- Enter the verification code from the text in the next browser screen.
- Blink Reset Option 1: If using Blink with the dedicated app, the user will receive a text with a link that will take them directly to their operating systems app store for the app download.
- Blink Reset Option #2: If the user plans on using SMS for requesting reset then the phone number that sends the verification code must be saved. When a reset is needed the user can simply reply “Reset” to have a new password text back to them. If they have lost the number, they can text `+1 855-391-7277 ` or `+1 443-747-7277 `.
- Upon first launching of the app, the user will be prompted turn on notifications (recommended for proactive account monitoring) and to select their Authentication Method – TouchID or Pin. We recommend using TouchID if those capabilities are available on your device.
- If the user chooses the pin option as their form of authentication they will be taken to a screen for entry.
- Upon choosing their authentication method the user receives one final prompt to scan a QR code to complete their Blink registration
- The user is created and can now prompt self-service password resets by pressing “Reset Password”. The app will then present a countdown timer while it is resetting the password.
- Once the password has been reset the app will communicate back to the user what their new onetime use password is. This password will now be used to get back into the computer.
Account Lockout Monitoring and Reset
Blink will proactively monitor the user's account and notify them when a lockout has occurred. When a lockout has occurred the user will receive a notification on their lock screen (notifications for the app must be turned on) telling them their account has been locked out. The user can then request a new password or unlock their account within the app.
- Users account is locked and a notification is received on the lock screen.
- The user can jump immediately into the Blink app by going through the notification and will be brought directly to their authentication screen.
- The user is notified that their account has been locked out and is presented with the options of unlocking the account or resetting the password.
- By pressing “Unlock Account” Blink will unlock the account and allow for additional login attempts. Pressing “Reset Password” will take the user through the reset process and provide them with a new password.