SolarWinds Backup Help

User management in Backup Management Console

Users (or user accounts) are required for access to the Console and other Cloud services.

  • There are several user roles. They make it possible to differentiate access to data and features within a company.
  • Customers can have an unlimited number of users.

User roles

The following user roles are available:

  1. Superuser

Starting from the 18.4 release, superusers can be assigned more permissions (security officers). The feature is available to resellers and end-customers.

  1. Administrator
  2. Manager
  3. Operator
  4. Supporter
  5. Reporter – a legacy role that is not available for addition any longer. The permissions are the same as for the Supporter.

Please see the table below for access permissions available to each of the roles.

Task Superuser with security officer permissions Superuser Administrator Manager Operator Supporter & Reporter
Automatic deploymentFeature available to resellers and end-customers Full access Full access No access No access No access No access
Export of monthly device statistics Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access
Generating passphrasesPassphrases are used instead of security codes during the re-installation of automatically deployed devices, for the cleanup of archived backup sessions and for the addition of devices to the Recovery Console. Full access No access No access No access No access No access
Launching backup devices remotely Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access No access
Managing backup profilesFeature available to resellers and end-customers only Full access Full access Full access Read-only Read-only No access
Managing contact notes Full access Full access Full access Full access Read-only Read-only
Managing contactsNames of customer representatives and their contact details Full access Full access Full access Read-only Read-only Read-only
Managing customers Full access Full access Read-only Read-only Read-only Read-only
Managing devicesAll features except for automatic deployment and generating passphrases Full access Full access Read-only Full access Read-only Read-only
Managing Office 365 domains Full access Full access Read-only Read-only Read-only Read-only
Managing products Full access Full access Full access Read-only Read-only No access
Managing security officersFlagging SuperUsers as Security Officers and removing the flag Full access No access No access No access No access No access
Managing usersAll features except for managing security officers Full access Full access Full access Read-only Read-only Read-only
Managing views Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access
Sending remote commands to devices Full access Full access Full access Full access Full access No access

Adding users

You can add new users for your own company and for your customers. Here are steps to follow:

  1. In the vertical menu, click User management.
  2. Click Add user.
  1. Fill out the fields and click Add to apply the changes.

The owner of the new user account will get an email notification with a password setup link.

Editing users

You can change any of the settings configured for a user except for the log-in name. Here is how to:

  1. Click the pen icon next to the name of the user you want to edit.
  2. Edit the settings as required and click Save to apply.

For extra security, users control password management.

To change their password the user goes to Login to the Backup Console, selects Forgot password? then enters the their email address to Reset your password.

Where this email address corresponds to a user in the system, we send an email notification containing a link to reset their password.

Removing users

Here is how to remove a user from the system:

  1. Click the trashcan icon next to the name of the user.
  2. Confirm your intention to proceed.

After that, it will not be possible to access the Console with the deleted user account. All people logged in under that account will be logged out within the next 15 minutes.

Managing security officers

The first superuser who logs in to the Console is immediately flagged as a security officer. Only security officers can manage other security officers including themselves.

To add a user with the security officer permissions, do the following:

  1. Log in to the Console as a superuser with security officer permissions.
  2. In the User Management module, click Add user.
  3. Set the user role to SuperUser, and then mark the Security officer checkbox.
  4. Click Add.

You can also grant or remove security officer permissions to existing superusers if necessary (see Edit user dialogue).

Each customer of the reseller or end-customer level must have at least 1 security officer. You cannot delete the last security officer.

Single Sign-On

With the 18.11 release, users now log into the Backup Management Console through a Single Sign-On service.

Please visit Single Sign-On FAQs for further information.