Manage domains in Console

Viewing and accessing domain properties

Users of all roles can view Microsoft 365 domains present in the Console. They appear next to regular Backup Manager devices in the Device management module.

To filter out Microsoft 365 domains

  1. Use the Select Filter dropdown and choose the Account type filter
  2. Select the dropdown and tick Cloud 2 Cloud for Microsoft 365
  3. Click on a domain name to view the tabs containing properties and statistics or to re-assign the domain to another customer

View statistics

On the Overview tab, you can check the account statistics for the services added to the domain.

In here, you will have the opportunity to change the customer that the domain belongs to. To add new services, follow the Add existing Microsoft 365 domain steps for the relevant service in the Enable Backups page.

  • You can also add a service from the Overview tab if one has not yet been added (see the SharePoint entry in the above image)
  • You can also use the 3 dots menu to the right of each entry to delete the data source from Backup (2 or more data sources must be configured for this option to be available)

 

History

The History tab will provide you with a list of the backup and recovery sessions for this device, what data source they are for and the status of this backup session. The list of historical events can be filtered using the filter options on the left hand side.

Errors Column

In the Errors column, you can click the errors count (if it is over 0) to open the Session errors dialog, which details the errors encountered during the backup itself - these may aid with any troubleshooting of the issue.

Error information given here will be required by support in cases where you contact them for assistance.

Audit

You can check the Audit tab to see which user account has been used to carry out actions on the domain.

In here you will be able to see which user account created the domain, added or removed services, amended backup selections, started restores and deleted backup history.

Protected Users

On the Protected users tab, you can view a full list of all protected users and the services protected for these users.

This tab is read-only, but filtering is available on the left hand banner to select which services and types of users you wish to view.

Manage backup selection

When looking at the domains properties, select either the Exchange & OneDrive or SharePoint tab to view all mailboxes, accounts or sites present in the domain.

Selecting a tab where no data source has been configured for backup will resent you with the option of adding a new data source

Exchange & OneDrive

You can also Add new users to backup automatically using the toggle switches at the top right corner of the tab;

Toggle State Result
On newly added users will be added to the backup selection automatically
Off newly added users will appear in the list but will not added to the backup selection

 

You can filter the displayed list by using the Filters on the left of the display, including filtering on Backup Protected or Unprotected accounts.

Unlicensed accounts will show in the list as greyed out. This is to show which mailboxes or accounts cannot be selected for backup due to not being correctly licensed.

SharePoint

Add data to Backup

In here, you can add new accounts or sites for backup by ticking the ones not currently backed up. You may look for the specific account using the search bar and filter the output using the left hand tool bar.

You may also enable or disable 'Automatically add new accounts to backup/Automatically add new sites to backup' by toggling the on/off slider.

After making any changes, you must click Save at the bottom of this dialog box or changes will be lost.

Delete Backups

You can delete backups made by searching for the account or site you wish to remove then clicking the trash can icon towards the right hand side of the screen. Doing this will remove the account from the backup schedule and will remove all backup history on the device for this account.

You will be prompted to confirm that you wish to proceed.

Deleting data can take up to 30 days.

After making any changes, you must click Save at the bottom of this dialog box or changes will be lost.

It will not be possible to recover previously backed up data from any mailbox, account or site which has since been removed from the SolarWinds Cloud

This is only available to Backup Management Console users with Security Officer permissions, all other users will not see this option.

View backup and restore job queue

To view the current backup and restore sessions that are in progress, these can be found in the Backup and Restore Jobs tab. The tab itself will also indicate how many jobs are active by showing a badge in the tab header.

Backup jobs cannot be canceled but restore jobs can by clicking the cancel button in the Actions column.

Actions for domains

The action menu for Microsoft 365 domains has up to 8 items depending on services configured for the domain:

  • Back up all now (initiates an unscheduled backup for all services)
  • Back up Exchange now (initiates an unscheduled backup for Exchange)
  • Back up OneDrive now (initiates an unscheduled backup for OneDrive)
  • Back up SharePoint now (initiates an unscheduled backup for SharePoint)
  • Restore Exchange (lets you restore selected Exchange items)
  • Restore OneDrive (lets you restore selected OneDrive items)
  • Restore SharePoint (lets you restore selected SharePoint it)
  • Delete domain (the domain is deleted from the Console and all its backup data is cleared from the SolarWinds cloud with no possibility of recovery)