SolarWinds Backup Help

Choice of target locations

VMware machines can be restored to either of the following:

  • Original location (in-place restore). The original VMware machine should be powered off at the time of the restore (otherwise it will not be possible to overwrite data on it). If there is no such machine, a new one will be created.
  • New location. In this case a prompt will appear to enter your connection settings. Backup Manager will create a new virtual machine on the server you specify. If there is a virtual machine with the same name, the recovery will not be performed (this is done to protect your data). If you get such a conflict, consider renaming the existing virtual machine(s) or performing the recovery to another storage on the same server.