Backup

No, they aren't.

It depends on the retention period.

"Used Storage" shows the backup size after the data has been encrypted and compressed.

Yes. One drive can be used for multiple devices at the same time. It will auto-generate a directory for each device's seed data.

No. You will need to restore the data from the other backup product and back up that location.

Yes, you can. Some predefined filters apply though.

Yes, you can. See Enabling backups in Backup Manager for instructions.

Yes. The Backup Manager uses Volume Shadow Copy to create a virtual copy of your files before a backup begins. Volume Shadow Copy allows for backing up files that are open or not in use. Files can be backed up in a consistent state, even if they are open. After the backup has completed, the virtual copy is removed and the original file stays intact.

They are held in your temp directory: C:\Windows\Temp.

The retention period is handled by the product applied to the device. Please check the product applied by going to Product management in Backup Management Console. If no product is applied, the default retention is 28 days and 3 file versions.

The backup will begin for the first scheduled backup but will get stuck in 'Uploading Backup Register' and will fail. Subsequent backups will not start.

We do not offer a local only backup option. A LocalSpeedVault is available to work in conjunction with cloud storage but not as a replacement for it.

Windows: Backup Service Controller
Linux: Process Controller
Mac: BackupFP

  1. In the Backup tab of the GUI, select edit on the source to be cleaned and click Clear Selection
  2. Confirm you want to clear the selection and fill in the confirmation box.

The security code is the encryption key used when creating the device.

You can add the 'LSV Status' column on dashboard by selecting it from the Columns dropdown > Miscellaneous.

Backup and Recovery time will depend on local environmental factors and the devices ability to upload, download and process data (list is not exhaustive):

  • Processor Speed
  • Available RAM
  • Local bandwidth
  • Disk write speed

Upload and download speed can be estimated using online calculators.
Factor in additional time for decryption and decompression of data.

Whenever a backup session is attempted either by a schedule or by starting manually, the Backup Management Console and Backup Manager GUI will provide a status to advise.

StatusMeaning
AbortedThe session was manually canceled.
CompletedThe session has completed with no errors.
CompletedWithErrorsThe session has completed but has encountered some problems during backup. The backup may be incomplete.
FailedThe session has failed due to some errors encountered during backup.
InProgressThe session is not yet finished running.
InterruptedThe session was interrupted while it was processing. This could be because the backup service was stopped or another program has caused a conflict.
NoSelectionThere are no data sources configured for the device.
NotStartedThe session was not started. Could be due to the device having a bandwidth limitation interval, but a backup is scheduled to begin within this time-frame.
OverQuotaThe device has gone over the allocated storage space, check the product applied to the device.
RestartedThe session has been restarted because the backup service has been restarted or the device might have been rebooted during the backup process.

The Backup Management Console will update:

  • After a restart of the Backup Service Controller service
  • Every 15 minutes if an active backup is taking place
  • Every 8 hours if no active backup is taking place

The files will be backed up as they are on the device. Any files backed up before the device is infected will be fine, but all files backed up after it was infected will be affected.

Backup Manager does not support Sage Database backups. To backup these databases you will need to create a dump of the databases and backup this dump via the Files and Folders data source.

Backup Manager cannot see NSS filesystem volumes.

Differencing disks or AVHD(x) files are files containing the changes in data between the current backed up data set and the new one.
These files are created when you make a snapshot of a running machine. When the device is powered down, the AVHD(x) and VHD(x) files will merge.

SolarWinds Backup supports three methods for encrypting the user data during a backup:

  • AES-128 (default for version 17.4 and earlier): a block cipher adopted as an encryption standard by the U.S. government, extensively analyzed and used worldwide
  • AES-256 (default for version 17.5 and later): a more secure but slower version of the AES-128 method
  • Blowfish-448: provides a good encryption rate in software, and no effective cryptanalysis of it was found to date

Event ID's are listed below in the following format 'ID - Description':

  • 10 - BackupFP started
  • 51 - Backup Started
  • 52 - Restore Started
  • 101 - In Progress
  • 102 - Failed
  • 103 - Aborted
  • 105 - Completed
  • 106 - Interrupted
  • 107 - Not Started
  • 108 - Completed With Errors
  • 109 - In Progress With Faults
  • 110 - Over Quota
  • 111 - NoSelection
  • 112 - Restarted

There is no way to avoid the cleaning process.
Once the process has started, it cannot be stopped.

Consistency checking is automatically done on the back-end periodically.
It is only recommended to run consistency checks manually if remote or local storage is not synchronizing and the restore sessions show (L) [local only].

This data will be backed up again and will be reflected in the transferred size. Data deduplication will then be handled on the storage node side.

The location of the Temporary Files Directory can be changed on the Preference Tab of the Backup Manager:

  1. Launch Backup Manager
  2. Select Preference tab
  3. Select Advanced
  4. In the field that displays Save temporary files to: type desired directory path

Drives that are marked as removable media by the operating system will not be detected for backup. The software will only detect USB drives that are mounted as fixed drives.

The blue arrow indicates that the directory is not local on the device.

The Backup Manager cannot filter any backup sessions based on a files modified time.

  1. Remove the schedule from the accounts Preferences tab on the Backup Manager GUI
  2. Modify the expiration date box on the Backup Management Console
    1. Right click on the device in the Backup Management Console
    2. Select Modify device
    3. Un-check the Unlimited box in the expiration date section and change the date as needed

Yes, backups can continue after a physical device has been virtualized.

Backup Manager will not see TimeMachine files as this is displayed as removable media which cannot be backed up at this time.

Additional devices show under the option to Launch Backup Client when the account is added to a restore only platform. These devices will remain in the list until they do not check in for 7 days.