N-central Help

Merging Roles

If your administration requirements change or there is a realignment of your work processes where a number of roles need to be amalgamated, you can combine two or more Roles into one. Merging Roles saves time. Rather than creating a new Role and reselecting permissions that combines already selected options.

When merged, SolarWinds N-central combines all permissions into the new Role. The new Role includes all the permissions from the selected Roles. No permissions are removed.

  1. Click AdministrationUser ManagementRoles.
  2. Click the check box next to the roles you want to merge and click Merge Roles.
  3. Enter a name and description for the new, merged Role.
  4. Click Delete Merged Roles to delete the individual roles after the merge.
  5. Make sure you do not require the Roles you are merging before you select this check box.

  6. Click Save.

When you view the new Role, the combined permissions are highlighted. If you chose to delete the previous Roles during the merge, they will no longer appear.