N-central Help

Merging Access Groups

If your administration requirements change or there is a realignment of your work processes, you can combine two or more Access Groups into one. Merging groups saves you time rather than creating a new larger Access Group that combines already selected options.

When merged, SolarWinds N-central combines all customers/devices and any group attributes into the new group. The new group includes all the selections from the selected groups.

  1. Click Administration User ManagementAccess Groups.
  2. Click the check box next to the groups you want to merge and click Merge Access Groups.
  3. You can only customer groups with customer groups or device groups with device groups. Not a combination of both.

  4. Enter a name and description for the new, merged group and indicate if you want to delete the current groups when making the new group.
  5. If you are merging customer access groups, to automatically include any new sites under a customer if added in the future, click Propagate to all new Customers/Sites .
  6. Click Save.

When you view the new Access Group, the combined customers/devices are highlighted to stand out from the other customers/devices in the list. If you chose to delete the previous Access Groups during the merge, they will no longer appear.