N-central Help

Disable patch management on a single customer

If a customer selects to not have patch management, remove the patch management module from the customer site and their devices.

This procedure involves:

  • updating any existing patch rules,
  • creating a new patch rule to remove patch management, and
  • removing patch management from the devices.

Update existing patch rules

The first step is to remove the customer from the current patch management rule, so any further updates will not flow to that customer when the rule is triggered.

  1. Click Configuration > Monitoring > Rules.
  2. Click on the patch management rule to open it.
  3. Click the Grant Customers & Sites Access tab.
  4. Locate the customer to remove and click the check box to de-select it.
  5. Click Save.

Create a rule to remove patch manager

This step is required if you included patch management in a rule with other activities. Clone the current rule to keep the other configuration without the patch management features.

  1. Click Configuration > Monitoring > Rules.
  2. Clone the rule that you disabled for the customers in the above steps and rename it.
  3. Edit the cloned rule and click the Grant Customer & Sites Access tab.
  4. De-select all the customers in the rule, except the one you de-selected in the previous steps.
  5. Click the Network Device Configuration Options tab.
  6. Click Patch Management and in the Action drop-down menu, select Disable Patch Management.
  7. Click the Maintenance Windows tab and remove all maintenance windows that pertain to patch management.
  8. Click Save.

Remove patch management from devices

Remove patch management from all the customer's devices.

  1. Select the Customer level (green Level)
  2. Ensure all devices are being displayed in the view.
  3. Click Reset Filters to be sure that no other filters are applied.
  4. Select all the devices in the list by click the check box next to the device name.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. Scroll to the Patch Management section and click the check boxes.
  7. Clicking the Edit checkbox without selecting an option, the option will disable for all devices you selected to edit.
  8. Click Save